How do I love thee after all these years?
You might think I’ve just grown use to you
to your every mood, your jokes, your hurts,
your silliness and seriousness, to the same
old whiffle and snort of sleep and that way
you do your mouth (just like your mom did)
to work boots lining the shelves downstairs
that testify to a hard-working man. Well, yes
I guess I am use to you. You’ve become part
of me, a circle without a seam. I love you
the way I love my heart’s devotion to beat,
the way my lungs breath without thought,
the way my big toes keep me balanced.
From roaring blaze to smoldering embers,
to rekindled steady flame our love remains.
I loved you.
I love you still.
I always will

 

Leave a Reply

