Looking for a Clear Sweet Note

Prompts for RWJ, Prompt 203 “Write about loss of voice (losing heart) and whether it’ll ever come back in a poem.”

 

Did I even have a song
those long years ago…
a child’s song of innocence,
a child’s song of wonder,
a child’s song of hope?

I think I did
but then my song began to change
became a dirge,
a sad ballad,
a lonely refrain.

I’ve heard the mocking
bird mimicking what it’s heard
pretending to be everything
it wasn’t meant to be.

And before it became too late
I found my song to sing
a song of what I believe
a song of strength in me.

Leave a Reply

