Brevity of Life

adashofsunny Prompt Nights – Brevity’s the flower that contends not with bunch, rather it blooms  by Sanaa Rizvi

 

I am a being for a minute time out of a vast eternity
flesh and blood, bone and gristle, brain and soul
formed of passion, navigating toward maturity,
enlightenment, some validation for this breath.

I am one of billions, part of all, yet all alone
a single voice that feels bewildered, bohemian, descant

I want to matter now and when I’m dead
I want the wind to remember my fragrance,
the trees recall my smile, the sun my fire,
the land forlorn for my footsteps and my song.

 

2 thoughts on “Brevity of Life

  1. Whistles!!❤️💜This is absolutely exquisite writing, Debi. I love the fact that this poem is both tender and fierce at the same time. Especially resonate with the lines; “I am one of billions, part of all, yet all alone, a single voice that feels bewildered, bohemian, descant” sigh.. beautifully rendered. Thank you so much for participating at Prompt Nights and for your constant love and support ❤️💜

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

