Longing for Naked Faces

written for adashofsunny Life is a masquerade with Sanaa
                      dverse OpenLinkNight #184 with Grace

 

Pines, grasses, mosses and lichen
dark to lightest green. Photosynthesis, psilocybin,
mushrooms, toadstools, fairy rings
flights of fancy, lost my mind, scared of everything.
Head on a silver platter, incoherent rage
here despair, anger, fear and nothing to assuage.
A lullaby, a sticky bun, a hope, a prayer, a poem
words and words and words of silly, futile hokum.
Every face I look into as people pass me by
I wonder what hateful thoughts hide behind their eyes.
Mask on mask on mask people wear so many
I long for days when there’s no masks, not any.

 

A bit of what led me to this poem.

I don’t mean the social niceties that make for a civil community. What led me to this poem was a post by Khara House and her experience with racism since Trump’s election. I was reminded of a ‘Twilight Zone’ episode where the heirs were called together by their dying father/grandfather and made to wear a mask until midnight in order to receive their inheritance. They were ugly masks but they each did it. When they took the mask off their faces reflected the mask’s character-greed, selfishness, arrogance, etc. It would be a shock to see the mask drop off to reveal the true heart of a person but at least you’d know what you were dealing with to avoid that person or hopefully to see yourself with clear eyes and change.

19 thoughts on “Longing for Naked Faces

  1. There will always be masks – we need masks to survive.
    I wear my peaceful mask often, otherwise I would be in a constant state of rage.
    Some folk drive me crackers – but I am sure I drive others crackers too.
    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

    Like

  2. I long for the days of honest conversations and unmasked opinions but are we ready for it ~ I don’t mind the public masks but the personal unmasking can be quite hurtful and contrary to what we think people really are ~ Good one Debi ~

    Like

    • I don’t mean the social niceties that make for a civil community. What led me to this poem was a post by Khara House and her experience with racism since Trump’s election. I was reminded of a ‘Twilight Zone’ episode where the heirs were called together by their dying father/grandfather and made to wear a mask until midnight in order to receive their inheritance. They were ugly masks but they each did it. When they took the mask off their faces reflected the mask’s character-greed, selfishness, arrogance, etc. It would be a shock to see the mask drop off to reveal the true heart of a person but at least you’d know what you were dealing with to avoid that person or hopefully to see yourself with clear eyes and change.

      Like

  3. My goodness, Debi ❤️💜this is absolutely incredible writing, especially resonate with “Every face I look into as people pass me by, I wonder what hateful thoughts hide behind their eyes.” I too shudder at the thought of unveiling masks from people’s faces for fear of facing what lies underneath the pretense, and the constant web of lies! Beautifully executed. Thank you so much for participating at Prompt Nights and for your constant love and support ❤️💜

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your poem and your note speak so much truth. I respect a person who says they can’t stand me, or that they don’t want to do anything with me… The ones that scratch my bones are those who hold the door for me just to crack the back of my skull when I’m not looking.

    Masks are a terrible thing… when they hide harm.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. “Every face I look into as people pass me by
    I wonder what hateful thoughts hide behind their eyes.”
    It is sad to lose trust in humankind. But your poem resonates, more so with the current dialogue worldwide. So, I feel I need my public masks as the name calling continues but not to deceive others only for survival. Very thoughtful piece, Debi!

    Like

  6. Such a clever use of language and thought – there is a feeling of desperately trying to hold the magic and light inside but it being challenged by the world every second.. i love that perhaps in some ways our words are naked faces

    Like

  7. The rhyming scheme gives this poem a sweetness, even though the subject matter is so serious. I can see how that fits with the Twilight Zone episode you mentioned, which feels like a cautionary fairy tale.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

