Love Is Its Own Reward

week-132

mindlovemisery Wordle #132 “December 5th, 2016”prompt by mindlovemisery
Gasoline, Lime, Bellwether, Late, Nuance, Marrow, Flattery, Clutter, Groove, Inexhaustible

 

A citrusy lime flavored dawn, tart but sweetly nuanced,
a bellwether for the weeks ahead though I didn’t know
it then. I flatter myself that I see into the marrow of life
through the clutter of emotion to the rich blood red
of reality. We’d talked, with an inexhaustible fervor
of love, of longevity, of the pure, spiritual bond of poetry…
You have changed me already. I am a fireball kept burning
with the gasoline of your lyrics flaming my heart to ecstasy.
It is so easy now to see gravity at work in your face
pulling your eyes from me, drawing your heart by the tides
of ebb out to the sea of forgetfulness. Late, too late,
I recognized the dying embers of that flame. Finally,
I’ve climbed from my rut, found my groove. I am changed
by loving you but not scarred. Love is its own reward.

 

Lines borrowed from:
Poem to an Unnameable Man, By Dorothea Lasky (You have changed me already. I am a fireball)
Lines Depicting Simple Happiness, By Peter Gizzi (It is so easy now to see gravity at work in your face)

9 thoughts on “Love Is Its Own Reward

Leave a Reply

