Poeming by the Rules

Miz Quickly prompt 18  Whole Cloth
One of the most striking differences between a cat and a
lie is that a cat has only nine lives.
—Pudd’nhead Wilson’s Calendar
Mark Twain

Begin with a lie. At some point mention a specific date. Include one small animal and one large one (names will suffice). Before you finish, correct the lie in such a way that there’s doubt as to which version is true. Appeal to two of the senses. Have fun.

 

I hate poetry prompts by direction,
a list containing add a date
(so I incorporate Medjool)
or perhaps the prompter asks
mention a animal, no make it two
a small animal and a large
but my mind gets into a tether
wondering how small, maybe a mite,
but I’m not sure that is considered
the right species. As for large, I suppose
a whale will do. So, I sit here in my
hard wooden chair and enjoy the
scent of the lemongrass essential
oil in my mister as the thin white
stream wafts through the air. I am
once again pleased to have such
specific prods helping me form
this fledgling poem, its feathers
still wet behinds its ears.

5 thoughts on “Poeming by the Rules

  1. Yeah, I hear you. I picked this prompt apart. Following all the rules is just near impossible at times. Sometimes I just can’t go where they lead. Or more just don’t wanna. 😉

    I like where you went though. ‘Mighty’ fine ‘whale’ tale. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

