When I am Old

Miz Quickly   “bolt, shake, pine, required, music, break, earth, book, senses”
Use all of the above words. You may use other forms.

 

What is required of me
after youth and usefulness?
I read the answer in the book
of earth, that ancient crone.
She writes with lightning bolt,
gale and gust sharp as a pen’s nib.
She shivers the trees with
soprano song breaking dawn
in musical notes of awe.
What is required of me
after élan has been spent?
To pine and reminisce.

 

4 thoughts on “When I am Old

  1. Ah…I had to look up ‘élan’
    I was trying to think of how to use pine in the same vain you did… but used the tree instead.

    I think we can write with a lightning, sort of. When using a dip ink pen…since the ink seems to run out just as fast as a bolt – though ideas sweetly linger as we ‘pine and reminisce.’

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

