Love Endures

Image result for joanne woodward quote sexinessImage result for paul newman and joanne woodward images

adashofsunny “Love’s a night-song sweet sung by the tender strokes of wind
I want you guys to pen down your deepest feelings regarding love. Feel free to take the subject in whichever direction that you desire.

 

It’s late and I can’t sleep
so I slip from bed,
put on my robe and
in the darkness sit
next to the stove
in my rocking chair.
I hear the crackling of the wood,
a pop, occasional long low whistle
that rises then fades.
The quiet snuggles around me,
except for the squeaky chair, hum of the fridge,
sound is hushed and respectful of the night.
A muffled cough down the hall
rustling of covers, a short lived snore
then I hear him turn over.
I look at the Christmas tree
adorned but unlit
and the shiny paper, bright bows,
gifts overflow onto the floor – the grandchildren are here.
Oh, the excitement and chaos of the coming morn
brings a smile
but the greatest gift,
this gift of family together once again
fills me with contentment.
I go back to bed,
snuggle into his back.
His hand rests on my hip
and I close my eyes.
Good night, love, I whisper.

16 thoughts on “Love Endures

  1. Whistles!!❤️💖 This is such a heart warming poem, Debi 😀 love the sense of peace, lull and calm here especially “Oh, the excitement and chaos of the coming morn brings a smile
    but the greatest gift, this gift of family together once again fills me with contentment. I go back to bed, snuggle into his back. His hand rests on my hip and I close my eyes. Good night, love, I whisper.” Sigh… beautifully penned. Thank you so much for participating at Prompt Nights and for your constant love and support.❤️💖

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

