Staff Meeting

Miz Quickly   Quickly, Simply   Make of ’em what you will

 

 

I can’t stop thinking in quotes.
These conferences, meetings,
think tanks are becoming stories,
fiction, fantasy, too familiar.

She walks into the room, pulls
out a chair and I think, “Of all the
gin joints, in all the towns, in all
the world, she walks into mine…”

I shrug. I don’t even know her
but she looks familiar. And, there’s
Bob from finance looking at his
watch, tut, tutting as the meeting

drones on and on “I’m late! I’m late!
For a very important date! No time
to say hello, goodbye!
I’m late! I’m late! I’m late!”

The discussion becomes a debate,
a persuasion, a plea, degenerates
into talking over each, shouting.
“What we’ve got here is failure to

communicate.”  I can’t help it, I chuckle.
“Gentlemen, you can’t fight in here!
This is the War Room!” I’m getting a
little worried about my sanity.

“Open the pod bay doors, please, HAL.”

 

Casablanca
Alice in Wonderland
Cool Hand Luke
Dr. Strangelove
A Space Odyssey

 

5 thoughts on “Staff Meeting

Leave a Reply

