When Life Hands You a Lemon…Make Lemonade

mindlovemisery  prompt by Oloriel
“For this week, I will give you a list of random items or words that you should use to create a mini story. The words are: Glass, Darth Vader, napkin, cellphone, lighter, book, anger, trouble, mind.” (use in that order)

 

I gaze into the looking glass, ancient, smoky, dark as the heart of Darth Vader and with a napkin from yesterday’s anniversary party, I dab at mascara ringed eyes. The cellphone dings. A message from from my best friend, my ex-best friend I remind myself. “Please, answer my call. Talk to me,” she texts. “Let me explain.” I rummage in my purse for a cigarette and lighter and mute my phone.

How would she explain that kiss? He certainly hadn’t had any good excuse as he mumbled and stumbled through an awkward, unintelligible explanation. Just like a cheap, paperback book or maybe a trashy soap opera scene, I thought, trite, predictable – in a book but not real life. I’d cried, pitied myself, despaired, thought of suicide (that would show them!) Then anger took over. A red, torrid, blinding rage.

I’d have to go to some trouble to cover my tracks but my mind was made up. I Googled revenge. Poisons. Accidental deaths. Then, I filled out an eHarmony registration.

 

3 thoughts on “When Life Hands You a Lemon…Make Lemonade

Leave a Reply

