And Yet I Feel Guilt

imaginarygarden FASHION ME YOUR WORDS TO FOLD ~ Ergo Imagined By

Dead fly on the window ledge
nothing to show why
it suddenly dropped dead.
I throw it away
as though it were nothing,
as though its short life trifling.
It touches me not. No tears,
no lament, plunked into a wastebasket.
I go on with my life. 

I think of deaths
of people I’ve never seen
in cities I don’t know

in a hospital,a hospice bed,
a car crash,
old age, suicide.
I hope they were mourned,
remembered, missed.
But it touches me only in passing,
otherwise, I would die
under its weight
or at least go mad.

 

The Prompt
Today we are revisiting [or visiting]
Peanuts a syndicated daily and Sunday American comic strip written and illustrated by Charles M. Schulz, which ran from October 2, 1950, to February 13, 2000, continuing in reruns afterward…with philosophical, psychological, and sociological overtones… the characters’ interactions form a tangle of relationships.

THE CHALLENGE:
Peruse the Peanuts cartoons shown [click for larger views], ponder them in a fresh new light, studying each character, until, you think you have found yourself in one of them, OR the nearest possibility of yourself, at the time of your reading here at Toads.

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “And Yet I Feel Guilt

  1. This really hits me where I live. (I’m a pretty depressed guy though so..)

    I love everything about this. I also fear that weight.

    Like

  2. Sometimes I think “Peanuts” was a form of cultural inoculation, offering us just enough of the human disease so we form antibodies against the ills of the world … Linus with glasses make me think he sees too much.

    Like

  3. There is humanity, there is empathy, there is compassion, there is boundary, and yet as your poem says there is guilt. Because the world is both small and large at the same time. And each day we must face this life of paradox

    Thanks for participating Debi

    Much love…

    Like

  4. Much truth in these lines, I certainly can relate to the position. It is an impossible burden to mourn every death, yet some days the tears do fall.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

