Hope

imaginarygarden Writing Unseen Imagined By Isadora Gruye

”  Write a poem about something you can’t see fully. Whether it’s the sea monster draped in darkness or just the silhouette of a lover blotted out by the sun, we are all intrigued with the details that exist but escape our sights. “

 

Does it feel velvety soft
like the down of eider
that cradles my head
that soothes me to sleep
to dream the dreams
of peace and rest?

Does it taste like pears,
the rosy part in absinthe green
that fills my mouth
with succulent sweetness
sating my thirst
of body and soul?

Does it sound like
a gentle rain tapping
at the window or rushing
rowdy rapids over rock
or perhaps the hungry chirp
of a wide-mouthed nestling?

I only know it is an enduring
thing, a wish, a possibility,
a thing promised with surety
but unseen, unseeable,
felt only as a flutter,
fragile as a butterfly wing.

 

22 thoughts on “Hope

  1. I love the questions in your beautiful poem Debi! Hope is a fragile thing and a perfect subject for a prompt about the unseen. I especially love the line, “felt only as a flutter,
    fragile as a butterfly wing.”

    Like

  2. Nice, very nice. Cider? Yes but right away it brought me to something stronger, the little white Vicodin pill that I took for my splitting toothache and resultant earache. It looked like colored pearls and distended body parts, especially my tight foot and ankle, three times the other in size.

    Like

  3. I enjoy question poems that make me think, Debi, and yours has, engaging all the senses. My favourite lines are:
    ‘Does it taste like pears,
    the rosy part in absinthe green
    that fills my mouth
    with succulent sweetness’
    and
    ‘a gentle rain tapping
    at the window or rushing
    rowdy rapids over rock’.
    lovely ways to describe hope.

    Like

  4. I like this very much, and it may be one of the better poems offered to the prompt in actually working with the unseen and giving it form which we can feel but not see. Hope is indeed an intangible, yet something that is a huge force in us, as you so aptly describe here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

